BJP wins 12 of 25 seats in Rajya Sabha

Polling ends for 25 Rajya Sabha seats in six states

Polling ends for 25 Rajya Sabha seats in six states

On March 15, 33 candidates were elected unopposed in the remaining 10 states.

Meanwhile, elections for the Upper House were held for 25 seats in six states which were almost as dramatic as the one witnessed in UP with counting being stopped in some states after various parties approached the EC over objections in ballot papers.

The BJP-led NDA is still short of the majority mark of 126 in the 245-member Rajya Sabha, of which 233 members are elected and 12 are nominated.

The BJP won 9 seats in UP. The BSP chief had earlier said the alliance partners had failed to transfer their votes to the BSP in past elections.

Among prominent leaders who won were union finance minister Arun Jaitley and BJP's GVL Narasimha Rao.

BJP again emerged as the victor by claiming 12 seats leaving Congress with five, Trinamool Congress with 4, Telangana Rashtra Samiti with 3 and the Samajwadi Party with one seat out of total 25. Full of suspense and charges of horse trading, elections in Jharkhand led to both BJP and Congress winning one seat each. In the recent bypolls, Nishad Party had supported SP in Gorakhpur. Akhilesh did succeed in delivering all the "surplus" SP votes, including that of his estranged uncle Shivpal Yadav, to BSP.

In all there are 11 candidates in the fray for the 10 seats. The Congress candidate got only 10 votes as independent member D. Prakash Reddy's vote was declared invalid by the Election Commission. The BJP alone accounted for 16 of these candidates. SP had sufficient numbers to ensure the victory of Jaya Bachchan.

Congress Belur MLA Rudresh Gowda did not vote as he is hospitalized due to illness. Janata Dal has boycotted the voting now, so that will also enhance our chances of victory: G. Parameshwara, Congress - Counting halted in UP: BSP files complaint with EC saying MLAs Nitin Agarwal and Anil Singh did not show votes to polling agents before casting their vote. "I hope they effectively voice the aspirations of the states they will represent", Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted. "I thank all MLAs of BJP and allies".

No more free reign to China: Trump after announcing tariffs
The new legal protections in China have helped create a burst of innovation in industries. Trump has said that one of these is the issuance of a mirror or reciprocal tariffs .

With the party going all out to outfox the opposition even in the Rajya Sabha elections, one can only assume that it is taking the prospects of a united opposition-in-making seriously. "BJP misused power and money to defeat our candidate..."

Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi, supported by the Trinamool, also won.

All four Trinamool candidates - sitting Rajya Sabha member Nadimul Haque, and first time nominees Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santanu Sen - are now rajya sabha members.

West Bengal, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh and Kerala will also feature in the polls. The poll found the Congress suffering yet another setback.

The polls were marred with controversy in Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka, where at least two MLAs each cross-voted in favour of the BJP.

While TRS candidates, B. Prakash, J. Santosh Kumar and AB.

The replacement of retiring Rajya Sabha members is also important because it is happening when Opposition parties are scrambling to band together for next year's general elections, following BJP's loss in three Lok Sabha by-elections on Wednesday.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.