Let Siddaramaiah contest from Badami as well: Hatti

Malikayya Venkayya Guttedar

Malikayya Venkayya Guttedar

The Karnataka chief minister was in the national capital to attend the party's steering committee meeting to screen the candidates for the state polls.

Meanwhile, the ruling Congress party will be announcing all of its candidates for the 224 assembly seats in Karnataka in a "single phase" by April 15.

Mumbai: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday released a list of 72 candidates for Karnataka assembly contest.

The list, finalised by the BJP top braass, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party President Amit Sha, was announced by the Central Election Committee.

NY high schoolers injured when bus strikes overpass
The Nassau County police and the Lakeview Volunteer Fire Department set up a mass-casualty treatment triage and saved lives. Two of the injuries were serious, five were moderate and the remainder were minor, police said in a press release.

State director of Kannada Development Authority, Mahanthesh Lakshman Hatti has requested the people of Chamundeshwari Constituency to allow Chief Minister Siddaramaiah to contest from Badami Constituency.

The first list of candidates also features some new names, including Mallikayya Guttedar, a six-time MLA from Afzalpur who moved from the Congress to the BJP after differences with Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge. "Members of the community can identify themselves with any party or leader but they cannot extend their support to a party on behalf of the entire community", Mr Puttabudhdhi said.

The battle for Karnataka has begun officially with the BJP on Sunday releasing its first list of candidates. Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G Parameshwara, state in-charge K C Venugopal and senior leader Madhusudan Mistry among others were present in the meeting. However, Yeddyurappa merged the entity with the BJP before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and was elected to the Lok Sabha.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.