Ronaldo and Messi's The Best absence "disrespectful" - Capello

Sam Kerr beaten by Marta for FIFA women's player of the year award, Matildas, football

Sam Kerr beaten by Marta for FIFA women's player of the year award, Matildas, football

Luka Modric broke a decade of award dominance by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi after being crowned world footballer of the year by Federation Internationale de Football Association on Monday.

Antoine Griezmann, Harry Kane and Kylian Mbappe make up the rest of the longlist, though Federation Internationale de Football Association world cup finalist and Federation Internationale de Football Association 208 tournament's Best player victor Modric is a clear favourite to grab the coveted award after captaining Croatia to the final of the World Cup as well as having a pivotal role in winning the Champions League with Real Madrid.

The midfielder won the Golden Ball award for the best player in the World Cup after their final defeat by France.

Modric beat out Liverpool's Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah and Ronaldo, who along with Messi did not attend the glitzy awards ceremony in London. "All dreams can come true". Although he scored two goals in his return from a shoulder injury for winless Egypt, he was embroiled in controversy after posing with Chechen leader Ramzan Kadyrov during training camp and took issue with the Egyptian FA.

Deschamps said: "We all know that being a coach, alone we can't do anything, We are nothing without our players and I want to thank my whole team who worked to get me here and get me this trophy tonight".

Each of the three men's footballer of the year finalists had intriguing backstories leading up to the event.

Modric was joined by Sergio Ramos, Ronaldo and Marcelo.

Tourists critical after two shark attacks
EARLIER: A CHILD has been bitten by a shark in the Whitsundays in the same location a shark attacked a woman yesterday afternoon. Canberra, Sep 20 (IANS) An Australian woman was in a critical condition on Thursday after being attacked by a shark.

The 36-year-old is a football agent and she met Modric in 2007 when he signed up to the agency she worked for while playing for Dinamo Zagreb.

The best goalkeeper award will be fought for between Thibaut Courtois, Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris.

"Thanks to my fans all over the world".

The Croatian midfielder would also be presented with the night's top award, being named the Best FIFA Men's Player of 2018.

Salah did not go away empty handed, however, as he picked up the Puskas award for best goal for his strike against Everton in the Merseyside derby last December.

As well as Argentina's Lionel Messi, there were three World Cup champions in the running - Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe and Raphael Varane. She also scored 13 goals as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL playoffs.

Chelsea_MKM: The man who does his talking on the pitch.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.